#SampleSunday- Mine

Have you ever had a moment when you realize your best friend has an eye on the same person you’re attracted to? What do you do? Do you step aside and let your friend take a chance and laugh when their attempts fail? Or do you put your foot down and stake YOUR claim?

For Brian, there was nothing to think about.

Excerpt:

An hour later my roommate knocked on my door. I put the guitar pick in between my teeth and made a notation on my sheet music. “What’s up?”

Javan leaned against the doorjamb. “You got a minute?”

“Sure.” I set the guitar in its stand and reached for my bottle of water.

“Did Yasmine Phillips call you about her yard?”

“Yeah, on Monday. She wasn’t there, but her roommate was.”

“Oh, yeah? Which one?”

“Ebony.”

Javan whistled. “Man, did you check her out? She is fine. I mean, with her body… I’d love to hit that. Yasmine’s my girl, but we’re not exclusive,” he smirked. “She isn’t looking for commitment, just a good time, you know what I mean?” He paused, eyebrows furrowed in thought. “Hmm…if Ebony is like that…” His eyes lit up. “Damn, that would be one helluva threesome.”

It took everything to control my mouth. I could understand why Ebony felt uncomfortable around him. He wouldn’t care that she’s an intelligent woman, because he’d be unable to see past her shapely behind.

“She’s not a ‘ho, J.” I twisted the cap back on the empty bottle with a vengeance and pitched it into the garbage.

We had occasional testosterone-based disagreements, but we always worked through them. But when it came to the treatment of women, we’d long since agreed to disagree.

Javan believed women were good for three things: satisfying his sexual needs, cooking, and bearing his children. Nothing more, nothing less.

The only thing we had in common was our height. We’re both six-two, though he had a good twenty pounds of muscle on me. Women loved his dark brown skin, hazel eyes, and shoulder-length dreads. He visited the barbershop weekly to keep his goatee trimmed and kept a Jamaican beautician on call to keep his hair done just right. Of course, she was also one of his hook-ups.

When it came to clothes, Javan was strictly GQ, everything top of the line. He was so stuck on himself it still surprised me we got along.

If Ebony’s roommate liked casual sex, she and Javan were a perfect match.

The pretty boy façade was not me. I worked outside, not in an air-conditioned office. I sweated and got dirty, but still took pride in my appearance. My style of dress was casual, laid back. My closet housed jeans, shorts, pullovers, and polo-styled shirts. I kept my face clean-shaven, most of the time, no beard or goatee. Sometimes I let my hair grow until it curled at the nape of my neck. Ladies loved running their fingers through it.

Javan looked at me with raised eyebrows. “And you know this how?”

“I took her out Tuesday. She’s nothing like one of your girls, J. Don’t even think about it.” He stared at me silently, meeting my hard gaze with one of his own. “She’s off limits.”

“You’ve got a thing for her. So it’s like that?”

“With her, it’s definitely like that.”

He inclined his head. “Didn’t you get over dating black women after what happened with, what’s her name?” He snapped his fingers.

“Trina,” I said sourly.

“Trina, yeah.” He shook his head. “So you’re ready to try again. You’ve got balls, man.” He held out a knuckled hand to bump fists. “Just watch your back this time.”

“Believe me, I will. There’s something about her. I can’t put my finger on it, but it’ll be different with her. I can feel it.”

####

If you haven’t read the Amazon Bestseller, A Heart Not Easily Broken, buy your copy today! Available for Kindle, Nook, iTunes, and on Smashwords. If Paperback is what you prefer, find it on Amazon or Barnes & Noble!

AHNEB FINAL COVER

Ebony is a smart, sexy, career-oriented black woman who wants nothing more than a summer fling with a man who challenges her mind and body. What she doesn’t expect is a blond-haired, blue-eyed bass player—who won’t take “no” for an answer—to accept the challenge.

When Ebony’s attempt at a brief fling turns into more, despite negative reactions from friends and family, she finds juggling love, family, and career are nothing compared to the ultimate betrayal she endures. Now her dreams spiral into lies and secrets that threaten her future and her best friend’s trust.

ONE CLICK for REVIEWS, FREE CHAPTER READS, ALL SALES LINKS!

For more information on The Butterfly Memoirs Series and a sample of the next book, Jaded, visit this link!

#####

Thank you for stopping by! I love to make new friends. Got questions or comments? Leave a comment, or connect with me online!

MJ

About Me Twitter Facebook Pinterest Google+ Goodreads Linkedin Email

2 thoughts on “#SampleSunday- Mine

  1. Hi MJ, in your first line, there is a your and a you’re confusion. I hope you can fix it before this one really takes off because the dialogue is superb.

Leave a Reply

