#SampleSunday- Foot massages, Conversation, and Mr. Ed

The reality of relationships is that regardless of race, worrying about how your lover’s family will view you arrive. Today’s #SundaySample is from Brian’s point of view as Ebony tells him about a phone call to her sister.

Excerpts:

“What’s new with you?”

A funny look passed over her face as she rested her feet in my lap. “Work is okay, I guess. I talked to my sister the other day.”

I fought the urge to let my curiosity be obvious. We had barely talked about her family since our first couple of dates. She’d made it known they probably would not approve of our relationship. To counteract that negativity, I made sure she met mine. My mother adored her. Every time we talked, one of her first questions was about Ebony. Were we still seeing each other? Was I happy? To each of those questions my answer was a resounding yes.

“How’s your family?” My focus stayed on her foot.

“Okay, I guess. The conversation dealt more about me than her.”

I risked a glance and saw her staring down at her fingers. Uh oh.

“I told her about us.” Her gaze met mine.

“And?”

“And…she thought I had gone crazy. She called Trevon, and well, it was a very interesting phone call.”

Nervousness grew in the pit of my stomach. I’d been down this road before, and the consequences had not been good.  A fact I had yet to share.

I held my breath while she continued.

“Trevon said he predicted I’d end up dating a white man.”

I creased my eyebrows. “Are you serious? How did that happen?”

Ebony lips turned up, her eyes brightened slightly as she giggled. “The night before my family drove me out to L.A., I was in my room stuffing every article of clothing in my suitcase. Well, he walked in as my bag popped open and my underwear fell onto the floor. I’m a tomboy, remember?”

I nodded, giving her eyes, and her foot, my full attention.

“The year before, Shana talked me into wearing thongs, something I hated. Well, to my surprise ­ and embarrassment ­ thongs of a variety of colors fell onto the floor. Tre picked one up, a white one, and makes this crazy joke. Now that I think about it, I’d rather not repeat it.” Her face screwed up as if she’d said too much.

“Oh no, you don’t. You brought it up, and now you’ve got to share.”

“No, never mind it’s stupid.”

“You said he predicted our relationship. I want to know how that happened.”

Ebony covered her face and groaned. “You’re not going to let this go are you?”

“Nope.” I put on the most evil grin, which made her crack a smile.

“Okay, fine, you asked for it.” She paused and took a deep breath. “Do you know who Mr. Ed is?”

I thought about it. “You mean the talking horse? My parents watched reruns of the show on Nick at Night years ago.”

She bit her lip. “Yeah, that’s the one. He said since I wore thongs, I would get a boyfriend named Mr. Ed because I was studying to become a veterinarian. And since Mr. Ed was white…” Her voice trailed off as she chewed her lip.

“Since the horse was white and I’m white, that makes me Mr. Ed?”

She nodded.

I laughed so hard I could barely breathe.

She snorted. “Are you okay?”

I held up a finger and nodded as I regained my breath. “When can I meet him? I like him already.”

####

There are only 11 days left to get your copy of A Heart Not Easily Broken before the sale ends!

AHNEB Sale with seal pic 450 

If you haven’t read the Amazon Bestseller, A Heart Not Easily Broken, buy your copy today! It’s  available for Kindle, Nook, iTunes, and on Smashwords. If Paperback is what you prefer, find it on Amazon or Barnes & Noble! 

Ebony is a smart, sexy, career-oriented black woman who wants nothing more than a summer fling with a man who challenges her mind and body. What she doesn’t expect is a blond-haired, blue-eyed bass player—who won’t take “no” for an answer—to accept the challenge.

When Ebony’s attempt at a brief fling turns into more, despite negative reactions from friends and family, she finds juggling love, family, and career are nothing compared to the ultimate betrayal she endures. Now her dreams spiral into lies and secrets that threaten her future and her best friend’s trust.

ONE CLICK for REVIEWS, FREE CHAPTER READS, ALL SALES LINKS!

For more information on The Butterfly Memoirs Series and a sample of the next book, Jadedvisit this link! 

#####

Thank you for stopping by! I love to make new friends. Got questions or comments? Leave a comment, or connect with me online!

MJ

About Me     Twitter     Facebook     Google+      Goodreads     Linkedin     Email

 

2 thoughts on “#SampleSunday- Foot massages, Conversation, and Mr. Ed

  1. Pingback: #SampleSunday- Mine | M. J. Kane

  2. Pingback: #SampleSunday- The Moment of Change | M. J. Kane

Leave a Reply

