Here’s a little something to beat the Hump Day blues!

Wednesday, better known as Hump Day….the middle of the week, the day where the weekend is in site. My favorite commercial on TV is the one from Geico that features a camel walking around an office asking ever one what day it is. “HUMP D-AAY!!!” ROTFL, cracks me up every time!

Well, I decided to share a little hump day action with a snippet from Jaded. No, it’s not that type of ‘hump day’ action, (get those heads out of the gutter! :)), it is from the ‘hump’ spot in the story where the heroine, Yasmine Phillips,  true feelings are exposed. And just for the fun of it, there’s an ex-girlfriend involved!

Happy Reading!

Excerpt:

“Who is she?” Melissa spat.

Zack opened his mouth to reply, but I cut him off.

“I’m the woman who’s taking care of everything he needs.” My eyes cut to where her hand gripped Zack. “Get your hands off my man.” I allowed every ounce of hatred and jealousy to be evident in my voice.

Her eyes narrowed. “Excuse me?”

I walked over and stood next to Zack, ignoring the confused expression on his face. I looked down; Melissa’s hand hadn’t moved. I cocked an eyebrow and sucked my teeth.

She dropped her hand and stepped away without uttering a word.

I stood in front of Zack and staked my claim. “Now, if I heard right, he doesn’t want or need you.” Her perfect lips opened as if to argue. I stuck my manicured nail in her face. “If you want to keep that cheap lace front wig for the next man you want to seduce, keep your mouth shut and leave before it ends up on the floor.”

Melissa stared at me, then angled her head so she could see Zack. Since he stood behind me, I had no idea what expression was on his face. Whatever it was, it forced her mouth shut.

She smirked while studying me. “Well, Zack, I see you’ve found a little playmate. She must not be as good as me or else you wouldn’t have answered the door.”

“What the…oh hell no!” I reached out for that stupid wig, but she slipped out of my grasp and into the hallway. Zack grabbed my waist, drew me in the door, and kicked it shut.

I struggled out of his arms and straightened my shirt, fuming that she got the last word.

Zack stepped in front of me, his expression a mixture of shock and lust.

I stomped past him to the kitchen, buttoned my shirt, and stuffed my legs into my jeans.

He followed.

“What?” I snapped, glancing over my shoulder.

“Did you mean what you said?”

“Hell yes. If I had gotten a hold of her that wig was coming off.” Dressed again, my focus went to the simmering sauce on the stove. “I better not see her ass in the street—”

“No, not that…you said I was your man.”

I cringed on the inside, refusing to let him read my face. “It’s what she needed to hear.”

The weight of Zack’s silent stare behind me made my hands shake. Blurting out my feelings because of the random appearance of his ex-fiancée was not how I’d intended to convince him to stay in my life.

Stupid, stupid, stupid.

####

Autumn landscape

A devastating breakup leaves Yasmine Phillips in shambles. Unable to trust another man with her heart, she focuses on the one thing she can control—starting her own business.

When her computer crashes, taking months of hard work with it, she must rely on computer genius Zachariah Givens to save her. A complete opposite of men from her past, she doesn’t expect the passion that ensues. But just as she finds happiness, she learns the truth about the other women in Zachariah’s life.

 

Amazon      Barnes & Noble      iTunes     Smashwords     Paperback

***Read as a STAND-ALONE or as part of The Butterfly Memoirs series!***

Looking for Book 1? Follow this link to learn more about A Heart Not Easily Broken!

#####

Thank you for stopping by! I love to make new friends. Got questions or comments? Leave a comment, or connect with me online!

MJ

About Me     Twitter     Facebook     Google+      Goodreads     Linkedin     Email

 

One thought on “Here’s a little something to beat the Hump Day blues!

  1. Pingback: Need Help Spelling? | Jacqui Senn

Leave a Reply

