#WriterWednesday- Interview with M. O. Kenyan!

Today I welcome fellow 5 Prince Publishing author, M. O. Kenyan! She is a versatile writer from South Africa with an overactive imagination and an unlimited amount of stories to tell. Take a moment to get to know her!

author pic

Welcome, M. O.!

What inspired you to write?

Plenty of crazy thoughts go through my mind. I love daydreaming a lot, thinking up situations, relationships, and events that I would like to be in. It’s my time out from the real world. I spend a lot of time in my head. I thought that maybe it would be a great idea to put it down on paper and welcome the rest of the world into my wacky mind.

What genre do you write? Did you choose it, or did it choose you?

Romance is my main thing. I write fantasy and contemporary. I have an action thriller coming out in July COVERT EXISTENCE with LazyDay Publishing. It’s the first I have done and I have developed a taste for it. I am looking forward to writing more of it.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

It depends. Sometime I go to a publisher’s site and see that they have different themes they are looking for. I write to their deadlines. Otherwise if it is something of my own, unattached I can write a book for a whole year. Right now I am finishing a book called THE NEWYORKER’S BETRAYAL. I started it in 2012 June, and I am yet to finish. I at times put ongoing projects aside if I’m stuck and work on something else to keep the creative juices flowing.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I can write three books at a time. I have a wandering mind.

Are you a pantser or plotter?

 I go with the flow. Planning hasn’t always turned out the way I want it to.

Are your stories based on experiences based on someone you know, or are events in your own life reflected in the characters/stories you write? Can you share and example?

I put a little bit of myself in everything I do. An example is my upcoming release DENOUEMENT with Secret Cravings publishing. The cheating part is something I pulled out of my own experience. It brought a lot of anger to the surface.

Do you have any suggestions to help new authors become a better writer? If so, what are they?  Write what you want. I am a Kenyan girl, who is living in South Africa. I don’t know how the hell New York looks like, other than what I see on television. That doesn’t stop me from writing. A better example is AVATAR the movie, I am quite sure there are no blue giants walking around somewhere.

Are you self-pubbed, indie pubbed, or traditionally pubbed?

I have only self-published one book THE MARA SONG this is set in the Kenyan Mara. My other books are published by independent publishers.

What are your current projects?

Currently I am working with my publishers to get my work published and out in July. I am writing the second book of my sports series SPORT KINGS THE GIANT’S TRUTH. And I am also trying to complete THE NEWYORKERS BETRAYAL. I am keeping myself busy.

ShadesOfSpring1964-1

Maxine tries to deal with her mother’s death in her own way. But when she finds old letters revealing her family’s past she finds herself creating a bond with someone else, not knowing how far their history goes.

Taylor is amused and infuriated with Marine, and no matter how hard he tries he can’t stay away from her. Now he finds himself being her main supporter, the only one she can lean on as she travels back to the past. And when the past is resolved they now have to think of their futures, while they concentrate on their present.

Amazon      Amazon Author Page

About the Author: 

Reading,Writing, Romance, Creativity and Imagination. These are the words that describe my work.
I was born in Nairobi Kenya and had a passion for books ever since I could remember. Romance and love have always been a strange phenomenon for me. I have always wanted to change the ending of a love story. I decided to start writing my own. I am a published author attached to 5 Prince Publishing, Secret Cravings Publishingand LayDay publishing. I have one book out at the moment but more is coming your way in 2013.

Enjoy!!!

 

Twitter     Facebook     Goodreads     Google+     Blog     Website     Linkedin

 

#####

 

Thank you for stopping by! I love to make new friends. Got questions or comments? Leave a comment, or connect with me online!

 

MJ

 

About Me     Twitter     Facebook     Google+      Goodreads     Linkedin     Email

 


Leave a Reply

