#Loving Day Blog Hop: True Love Sees No Color, No Bounds

When I decided to write my first novel, I was nervous. I had never written anything other than a thirty page FanFic, and the idea of writing a complete story, especially one that involved love scenes, scared me. Yet, my Muse would not let me give up. So, I grabbed a laptop and started writing.

I knew from the beginning my heroine would be a black woman who was goal-oriented, lived clear across country from where she grew up, an was not looking for or in need of romance. I knew there would be a traumatic experience that would change her life and force her to question her ability to continue on the path she’d laid out for herself. What I did not know was what type of man would convince her to fall in love with him and have the ability to support her in all things, even when he does not realize there is a problem.

Being an African-American woman, you would think the hero would be a black man.

My Muse saw things differently.

I remember sitting on my bed writing the chapter in which Ebony Campbell first meets the hero. Now, mind you, this was in 2009 and the story was in its infant stages. The original scene had her and her friends at the beach when she meets a really handsome black man whom she flirts with. During the course of their conversation, his roommate approaches and the two characters are introduced. Brian Young is a blond haired, blue-eyed, white man with a devilishly handsome smile and cocky attitude. Something about him at that moment caught Ebony’s eye, and more importantly, my imagination.

Three years, and many revisions later, the black man that originally caught Ebony’s attention faded into the background, and Brian Young, rooted himself in both of our hearts. Thus, my decision to write Interracial Romance began.

I have not been in an interracial relationship, but I am a firm believer that love has no bounds. Skin color should not be the determining factor as to whether or not you allow yourself to be attracted to another person, nor fear of racial differences.  While family and friends have the ability to influence our decisions, it is up to us to decide what will make us happy. I tell my children if they fall in love with someone who is not black, the only thing that will concern me will be whether or not that person is good to them, loves them, and makes them happy…race does not matter.

Easier said than done, right? Even in 2013, when interracial dating is politically correct and a lot of people with raciest attitudes are dying off (as one fan who has read my book told me, lol) people’s thoughts about IR relationships behind closed doors still exist.

While writing A Heart Not Easily Broken, I researched couples who are in interracial relationships, read articles, books, questioned a few people I knew who were in relationships or the children of  IR couples. I imagined what my reactions would be like if I were Ebony, realistic reactions, not ones that are politically correct. I researched the marriage statistics of interracial couples (black women/white men to be exact) in different areas of the country. I watched couples in the city where I live. I say all of this because I wanted to be sure the story I wrote  focused on Ebony and Brian’s relationship realistically and not ignore or make up situations that would not ring true.

A Heart Not Easily Broken is a story about more than a black woman and white man struggling to be together. It is a story about two people from different backgrounds who recognize love when they find it. Yes, there are some issues the heroine faces because her upbringing is far different from Brian’s. She’s from the South where regardless of what we see on TV, the news, or any other media source, negative influences from family and friends still happen. Though it’s not as negative as it was in the past, it almost an unspoken thing that a young black woman knows bringing a white man home to momma may not go over very well. Despite the fact Ebony is a grown woman who has lived in California for the past seven years, it does not take away from her personal fear that her parents may not support her decision to be with Brian. As their relationship grows, Ebony’s fear dissipates and leads to a love that she never imagined existed.

I am proud to say A Heart Not Easily Broken has received over 80 5-Star Reviews from Amazon, Goodreads, and Barnes & Noble readers. My biggest compliment came a few weeks ago by a reviewer who said her child is in an interracial relationship and she could relate to the experiences had by Brian and Ebony.

If you are looking for stories that focus on human nature, finding love where you least expect it, and the ability to overcome the trials life throws at you, the The Butterfly Memoirs are for you.  To learn more, follow this link.

In celebration of Loving Day, I am giving away two eBook copies of A Heart Not Easily Broken. The winners will be announced on Friday, June 14th! To enter the context, leave a comment and share the reason why you love reading Interracial Romance. Don’t forget to leave your email address so I can contact you if you win!

***The contest ends 6/13/2013 at 11:59 PM, and the winner will be announced on my blog on Friday, 6/14/2013. Good luck! ***

If you haven’t read the Amazon Bestseller, A Heart Not Easily Broken, buy your copy today! It’s $3.99 and available for Kindle, Nook, iTunes, and on Smashwords. If Paperback is what you prefer, find it on Amazon or Barnes & Noble!

A Heart Not Easily Broken(Butterfly Memories) by M.J.Kane

Ebony is a smart, sexy, career-oriented black woman who wants nothing more than a summer fling with a man who challenges her mind and body. What she doesn’t expect is a blond-haired, blue-eyed bass player—who won’t take “no” for an answer—to accept the challenge.

When Ebony’s attempt at a brief fling turns into more, despite negative reactions from friends and family, she finds juggling love, family, and career are nothing compared to the ultimate betrayal she endures. Now her dreams spiral into lies and secrets that threaten her future and her best friend’s trust.

ONE CLICK for REVIEWS, FREE CHAPTER READS, ALL SALES LINKS!

For more information on The Butterfly Memoirs Series and a sample of the next book, Jaded, visit this link! 

****DON’T FORGET TO VISIT THE NEXT LOVING DAY BLOG HOST, Ambrielle Kirk!!!***

 

#####

Thank you for stopping by! I love to make new friends. Got questions or comments? Leave a comment, or connect with me online!

MJ

About Me     Twitter     Facebook     Google+      Goodreads     Linkedin     Email

14 thoughts on “#Loving Day Blog Hop: True Love Sees No Color, No Bounds

  1. I appreciate these stories that recognize love coming from different shades and background of people. Ebony must be a strong-minded heroine, just the kind I like.

    • Thanks for stopping by! Yes, Ebony is, but like everyone else, she’s imperfect and makes a mistake that threatens to destroy everything she’s worked for. She is one of my favorites in The Butterfly Memoir Series. There’s more to come!

  2. I used to just read African American romance book then one day I brought an IR romance and now I’m been hooked. Now I stalked the on-line book site for good IR ebooks. Also IR ebooks written by African American authors as well.

  3. Hi MJ,

    I have all your books but thought I’d stop by to read your contribution to the Loving Day Hop. Awesome gf!

    I love learning how you started writing IR novels. it’s wonderful to know that you didn’t let the “color barrier” stop you from writing a great story. I like that you stuck with it until it felt right to you. Kudos! Keep up the great work. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work.

    Belinda G
    belgre AT Comcast DOT net

    • Hi Belinda, thank you for stopping by and thank you for your wonderful comments! It’s wonderful to have fans like you! And don’t worry, I’m plugging away at Kaitlyn’s story! 🙂

  4. Pingback: And the winners are….. | Author M.J. Kane

  5. Pingback: #SampleSunday and a little bit more……. | Author M. J. Kane

  6. Pingback: A HEART NOT EASILY BROKEN is .99 cents!!!!! | Author M. J. Kane

  7. Pingback: #SampleSunday- Meeting the Family on the Fourth of July | Author M. J. Kane

  8. Pingback: #SampleSunday- Foot massages, Conversation, and Mr. Ed | Author M. J. Kane

  9. Pingback: Spend the Holiday with Ebony and Brian! | M. J. Kane

Leave a Reply

