Guest Post: A Quick Trip into Chaos: My Writing Experience

 Aspiring Authors: at times you may feel down, unsure of what your supposed to do with your writing. Fear not! We’ve all been there! Today, author Catherine Stovall stops by to share her journey to publication! Thanks, Catherine! 

I am not one of those authors who have been writing novels ten or twenty years. In fact, I started just about two and a half years ago. About two weeks after my 30th birthday, I decided that I wanted to write a novel. Inspired by the onslaught of cuddly paranormal creatures, I wanted to supply teens and young adults, much like my own, with novels that embraced the darker side of things.

The writing went quickly and before I knew it, Stolen was born. I worked hard to proofread, edit, and perfect my manuscript. Before I knew it, I was down to the BIG question. I had to choose what to do with my book. I was unsure whether I wanted to self-publish, try for an agent, attempt the traditional route, or choose a small press.

Self-publishing wasn’t for me. I admire those brave souls who put on their entrepreneur hats and storm into the world of publishing and I have since published a short story on my own, but at the time, I knew I wasn’t ready for that. I needed more guidance, more direction, and the help of someone who positively knew how to do what I didn’t.

The guidelines for the well-known print publishers, terrified me. Most print publishers do not accept unsolicited manuscripts from writers, only those with agents. Agents do not generally accept authors who have not previously been professionally published. Not to mention, most publishers and agents accept very few projects a year. I found myself in a conundrum. To proceed or not to proceed, that was my question.

That’s when I tripped my way around the internet and discovered small presses. I knew this was the path for me as a new author. Everything I was looking for was there. Here were companies who welcomed unsolicited manuscripts without an agent, provided professional editing, and offered very competitive royalty rates. When I learned that I could have a bigger say in the entire process by using signing with a small publisher than I would with the larger publishers, I dove in.

Sixteen letters went out. In a matter of weeks, I received several polite no thank you letters, one letter that not so politely told me not to give up my day job, and two letters saying yes. Stolen: Requiem of Humanity Series: Book One was released just twelve days before my thirty-first birthday. In less than a year, I had become a real author.

Through 2012, I continued to work hard, prepping my next releases. I self-published a short story, Fearful Day, in June of 2012. In addition to Fearful Day, Reborn: Requiem of Humanity: Book Two released in December of 2012 through the same small publisher as Stolen. I also started working on many new novels and shorts, one of which is my brand new release, Faire Eve. I was very happy with how things were going, and though I wasn’t wildly successful, I received letters and post from fans who were cheering me on.

Here, we come to the part of the story that is the here and now. So far, 2013 has been a fabulous year. I have been blessed enough to meet, and be signed with, the fabulous Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing. Faire Eve is my first release of the year but far from my last. I have also signed a short story to CHBB’s sister company, Vamptisy. You will be able to grab a copy of my short story, Bloody Freedom in the Broken Mirrors, Fractured Minds anthology in August. In addition to these, I have a few full lengths and shorts that are currently in negotiations. Hopefully, 2013 will be the best year yet for me and my fans.

All in all, my experience has been amazing. There have been ups and downs. Rejections hurt, reviews are nerve wracking, and the hurrying up to wait part of the business is intolerable. Yet, I love what I do. I have had a gentle ride into the chaos that is an author’s world. The trip has been fun and I am looking forward to the rest of the journey.

####

Faire Eve Cover

Under the watchful eye of her over protective mother, Eve grew up in a world without magic and fancy. She never cared about riding a unicorn, dancing at balls or being a princess. Now, all the things she never desired are hers and every other girl’s dream is her nightmare”

The Sidhe ruled over fairy magic from the twilight city, Trig Na nOg, until a beast cast a dark spell to send them into a death-like sleep. In an attempt to reap revenge on the fairy people, Tiritchiq hunts Eve and her entourage as they campaign to place the halfling princess on the throne.

In order to save the world of Evalon and a family she has never known, Eve travels through dimensions, crosses dangerous landscapes, and learns to accept the Sidhe blood within. With the moody and handsome Daione Warrior Eldon by her side, she must embrace the darkness inside of her and face down a powerful foe.

 Amazon     Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing

538198_485786998125536_399639455_n

About the Author:

Catherine Stovall is the author of Faire Eve, The Requiem of Humanity Series, Fearful Day, Sweet Sally Slasher, and Bloody Freedom. Stovall is a member of the International Thriller Writers and the creator of International Bug Your Library Day, an operation to spread awareness for Indie and Small Press Authors.

Catherine is a fearless creature who surrounds herself with the joys of life both in and out of her fictional worlds. She lives in Southeast Missouri with her husband, three children, and pets. When not writing, she spends her time riding motorcycles, wearing elaborate hats, and genuinely enjoying the oddities in life.

Facebook      Website      Twitter

#####

Thank you for stopping by! I love to make new friends. Got questions or comments? Leave a comment, or connect with me online!

MJ

About Me     Twitter     Facebook     Google+      Goodreads     Linkedin     Email

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: A Quick Trip into Chaos: My Writing Experience

  1. Pingback: Faire Eve Blog Tour – Day 7 – M.J. Kane | Page Turner Book Tours

  2. Pingback: Faire Eve Blog Tour – Day 15 – Read 2 Review | Page Turner Book Tours

Leave a Reply

