#TeaserTuesday- Sometimes your friends know you better than you know yourself.

This week’s teaser is from Jaded (Book 2 of The Butterfly Memoirs). Falling in love is easy. Knowing when to step up and put your cards on the table can be hard. Though you may be willing to except your situation and ignore the fact you want more when the one you want doesn’t, it’s often up to our friends to kick us in the butt and motivate us  not to settle.

Excerpt:

When the call ended, I stared at the screen until her picture faded.

“Oh shit, you are whipped.” Nick slapped the table in deep laughter.

“What are you talking about?”

“‘It’s not just about sex’? You say that to a woman you really care about.”

“So?” I glared at him.

Nick stopped laughing and sipped his beer while watching me. “You’re finally over Melissa’s selfish ass. Good for you.” He toasted me with his bottle. “If this dry spell of yours lasted any longer, I was going to stage an intervention at the barber shop.”

I shook my head and looked away.

“All jokes aside, man. I haven’t seen you this relaxed in…months, actually. I’m going out on a limb and assuming it’s because of this new woman. What’s her name?”

“Yasmine Phillips. Her family owns the chain of bed and breakfast hotels.”

The Phillips’ Family Inns? Wow, so she’s got some money, huh?”

I shrugged. “It’s none of my business.”

“So, what is it about her you like?”

I glanced over at my best friend who now ignored the table full of women he’d been eyeing. Nick and I met in the fourth grade when his family moved from Virginia. He was an awkward kid, shy and lacking confidence. Other kids teased him, but I thought he was interesting. We’d been tight ever since. He knew my secrets, and I knew his.

I was at his house the night my father died.

“She’s everything, Nick. Everything Melissa should have been and more. She’s smart, outgoing, willing to help others. I swear she doesn’t have a selfish bone in her body. She’s got class and style and an attitude that …” I smiled to myself. “The day she walked into my store, I wanted her. Do you know how long it’s been since I gave a woman that kind of attention? I mean, Nick, every time I’m near her I’m ready to take her to bed. Her laugh, her smile, and oh man…that body of hers is—”

Nick dropped his head and laughed. “Damn, man, I bet if she walked in here right now and told you to lick her shoes you’d do it.”

“Uh, no. It’s not like that between us. We’ve got this…I don’t know how to explain it. We understand one another. Both of us have been hurt before so we know what to do to avoid it from happening again. That’s why we…” I realized Nick was staring at me. I waved it off. “It’s not important. The fact of the matter is, what we have works.”

“What you have? Okay, you’re sleeping together. What’s so special about that? Men and women sleep together all the time. What did you guys do, re-invent the wheel?”

I chuckled. “Not exactly. We’re friends, really good friends. I feel as though I can talk to her about anything and she’d understand. The sex is…” There was no need to explain. “I couldn’t imagine being with another woman. Neither of us wants a long term commitment, so…” My eyebrows creased in thought about the words I uttered. I lifted my bottle and drained it dry.

“Hold on a minute. You’re having hot sex with a woman you see as a great friend, she’s obviously what you need or else you wouldn’t be gushing over her like this. What’s stopping you?”

I glanced at him. “From what?”

“From marrying her. Let’s face it; between the two of us, you’re the marrying type. Me, I fool around. If you guys have no intention of walking down the aisle, it’s a waste of your time. And you my friend,” he pointed his bottle at me, “are not the type to waste time. You go for what you want. What are you waiting for?”

I didn’t have to think about it. I knew the answer. Yasmine made it clear what the parameters of our relationship would be.

Seeing this as anything more was my problem. Yeah, I was tired of putting my body on lock down every time she came near me and pretending my feelings didn’t exist. If I told her what I wanted…

“She’ll leave me, Nick. I can’t lose her. For once in my life I’ve found the perfect woman. If I lose her then…” I rubbed my eyes. “If no commitment is what it takes to keep her in my life, then I’m willing to sacrifice what I want to make it work.”

Nick shrugged. “Okay, so it works for now. What about six months from now? A year? Are you sure you’re willing to sacrifice your long-term happiness for good conversation and hot sex? What about family? Are you going to be able to walk away and find someone else willing to make that kind of commitment?” He tapped his bottle on the table. “That, my friend, will be the ultimate screw, except it won’t be her doing it. Where would you rather be in six months? Waiting to see her or going home to a woman who loves and gives you what you really want?”

Damn. He was right. I sighed and ran my hand over my head. My boy, the player, had hit the nail on the head.

There was no one else I wanted in my life besides Yasmine. I didn’t want to lose what we had. Not to another man, and not because she didn’t want the same thing as me.

####

Jaded

BUY YOUR COPY TODAY for $3.99!

A devastating breakup leaves Yasmine Phillips in shambles. Unable to trust another man with her heart, she focuses on the one thing she can control—starting her own business.

When her computer crashes, taking months of hard work with it, she must rely on computer genius Zachariah Givens to save her. A complete opposite of men from her past, she doesn’t expect the passion that ensues. But just as she finds happiness, she learns the truth about the other women in Zachariah’s life.

Amazon     Barnes & Noble     Smashwords     iTunes      Paperback 

 First chapter, Character Bios

New to The Butterfly Memoirs Series? Catch up with A Heart Not Easily Broken (Book 1 of The Butterfly Memoirs)

#####

Thank you for stopping by! I love to make new friends. Got questions or comments? Leave a comment, or connect with me online!

MJ

About Me     Twitter     Facebook     Google+      Goodreads     Linkedin     Email

Leave a Reply

