#WriterWednesday- Interview with Author Untamed!

 I met Author Untamed during book signing at my local mall and had to introduce her to you. It’s always a pleasure to support my fellow authors!

Untamed author pic

Welcome, Untamed!

What inspired you to write?

I was given a poetry assignment in middle school and I found it as a great way to release my emotions. From writing poetry, I began to develop short stories and eventually novels.

What genre do you write? Did you choose it, or did it choose you?

I write a variation of urban fiction which at its core is urban however it has elements of comedy and what I’ve heard of as a “slice of life” or real-life genre. I also write dramas and erotica.  All of my writing chooses me. I always write what it’s in my heart and my characters tend to take a life of their own so I let them go wherever they choose.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

 Hectic! I usually write early in the morning or late at night.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

My character’s voices. I tend to allow my characters to have very distinct personalities and speaking voices. I’ve found it helps the readers connect closer with the characters of their choice.

Are you a pantser or plotter?

As an author, I feel as though you have to be a little of both because you have to at least know what you’re going to write about and develop some characters, scenarios and plots, but stories do tend to deviate from the original plan. As for me, I think I’m more of a plotter and my characters are the pantsers lol! I have a vision and then they go wherever.

Are your stories based on experiences based on someone you know, or are events in your own life reflected in the characters/stories you write? Can you share and example?

For the series I have out now, it is a combination of my personal experiences, people I know and situations that you hear about from day to day. For example, my books Never Again…No More and Never Again…No More 2 are about ladies who were teen moms and I was a teen mom.  My other novels are strictly pieces from the crevices of the mind of Untamed.

Do you have any suggestions to help new authors become a better writer? If so, what are they?  Once you’ve written your masterpiece, edit, edit, edit then get someone to edit and then have another editor check your edits and your editor’s edits.

Are you self-pubbed, indie pubbed, or traditionally pubbed?

 I am traditionally published through One Karma publishing.

What are your current projects?

Currently, I am editing the next book in my series.

Connect with Untamed on the following links: 

Twitter     Facebook     Goodreads     Library Thing     Blog/Website     Email

Book cover

Born and raised in Atlanta, Lucinda, LaMeka, Charice, and Trinity are best friends with very similar backgrounds. They have all fallen victim to the perils of teen pregnancy. After each one becomes love struck to the bitter end; they realize that their dreams, ambitions, and planned future must be put on hold. While they struggle to find themselves, each one tries to survive in the game called life. Once they find out that their consequences are a little costlier then they imagined, it’s the decisions they’ve made that creates their troubles.

BUY your copy today!

Amazon     Barnes & Noble     One Karma Publishing     Authorgraph

 

About the Author:

Untamed is an urban fiction author working for One Karma Publishing Company. She lives in her home state of Georgia with her devoted husband of twelve glorious years, three beautiful and spirited children, and an insanely loveable dog named Rocky.

Untamed first found a love of writing as a young child through her love of reading. It was the novel entitled, Coming of Age by Lorri Hewitt that truly inspired Untamed and became the flame that ignited her introduction to the pen and pad.

Untamed’s writing journey began twenty years ago at thirteen years old with poetry, spoken word and short stories. Throughout her high school and college years, she received many accolades for her writing ability to include the Coca-Cola Young Writers Award and honorable mention in the Sandhills Writers’ Conference.

Later, she began to develop her writing talents as a novelist due to her own personal life experiences. Best known for her gritty yet flavorful language, she embraced urban literature to bring about knowledge and support through real life, every day stories with highly animated and lifelike characters. Her powerful words and straight up, no-chaser verbiage delivers punches that will leave you screaming for more.

Writing is a passion to Untamed, believing that everyone has a story to tell, she proudly writes stories that not only entertain but relates to the readers on a very personal level.

#####

Thank you for stopping by! I love to make new friends. Got questions or comments? Leave a comment, or connect with me online!

MJ

About Me     Twitter     Facebook     Google+      Goodreads     Linkedin     Email

 

5 thoughts on “#WriterWednesday- Interview with Author Untamed!

  1. Thank you, MJ for the interview feature! It was indeed a joy to meet you and you are such an inspiration to everyone! Continued success and blessings!

  2. Pingback: #WriterWednesday- Erotic Kookie | Author M.J. Kane

  3. Pingback: #WriterWednesday- Interview with Lisa Orchard! | Author M.J. Kane

  4. Pingback: #WriterWednesday- Interview with Nikki Walker! | Author M.J. Kane

Leave a Reply

