Even Fictional Characters Appreciate Their #Mothers!

Happy Mother’s Day!

I don’t know about you, but I’m starting my day off sleeping in for as long as possible, then waiting to see what drawings my young artist have worked on all week and been dying for me to see.

When I write, I put my supporting characters in their lives that help them grow along their journey. What  relationship is more pivital in your life than the one with your mother? Good or bad, there’s always something to learn from the woman who’s given you life. In the case of Zachariah Givens and his mother, Ms. Belinda, she never hesitates to set tell him like it is.

Here’s an excerpt of Zachariah Givens as he talks to his mother about his relationship with Yasmine. Enjoy!

Excerpt: 

I arrived at my mother’s house, surprised to see my mom sitting on the front porch.

I walked up the steps and gave her a kiss on the cheek before joining her on the swing. “How are you feeling?”

“I’m okay.” She studied me, a look of curiosity on her face.

She wore the same expression on her face as she did when I was a child.

“What?”

“I had a visitor today.”

“Who?”

She turned to face me, her eyes narrowing. “Melissa.”

I froze. “Melissa?”

She nodded.

I sat back on the swing, closed my eyes, and massaged my temples. “What did she want?”

“She was looking for you.”

“I’m in the same place I’ve been since the day she left.” I opened my eyes. “She hasn’t come by.”

My mother shrugged. “Maybe you weren’t there. Who knows?” Her attention went back to the empty street.

I huffed. It’s funny how life worked. I hadn’t seen nor talked to Melissa in over a year. At first, I waited for her to come back, call or text, something to let me know our relationship had not been a waste of time. I wanted her to tell me even though she could not handle the emotional turmoil I endured, she at least still loved me.

It never happened.

Now that Yasmine was in my life, she appeared. Part of me needed to know what she wanted. The other part didn’t give a damn.

“Did she leave a message?” I kept my voice even.

My mother shot me a sideways glance. “She wants you to call.” She pointed to the small table sitting across from us.

I started to look at it then stopped, unwilling to mess around and memorize the numbers on the paper.

We sat in silence.

“Are you going to call?”

“Why?” Unexpected rage spewed from deep inside. “Why the hell would I want to talk to her? The last thing she said to me was her number changed and not to contact her again.” I shook my head in disgust.

“Don’t hate her, Zachariah, it’s not worth the effort,” Mom advised.

She was a far better person than I was.

“Yeah, well…it’s not something I can forgive. Leaving me…no, us, when we needed her the most.”

She reached over and patted my knee. “No, baby, she left you. I know that’s a bitter pill to swallow, but you’ll get over it. If I’m not mistaken, you’ve begun getting over it already.” A sly smile spread across her lips.

“What do you mean?”

She laughed at my feigned innocence. I could never lie to my mother. Somehow she always seemed to know when I was not telling the truth.

“Play coy all you want, but I know my son. Since the day you brought Yasmine here, there’s been a smile on your face, especially when I say her name.”

I smirked. “You’re making that up.”

“Oh, really?”

I turned to look at her.

“Yasmine…see! You just did it! Your eyes lit up!” She laughed and smacked her knee.

I couldn’t help but laugh as well. My mother had this amazing way of being able to read my mind. It had to be motherly intuition.

“Fine, what can I say, she is amazing.”

“What you can say is you’ve told her how you feel.”

My attention turned back to the street and the car driving past. “No.”

“Why not?”

I glanced over and saw her hand resting on her hip, and a serious question in her eye. “Because… I don’t know how I feel.”

A sigh of exasperation came from her side of the porch. “Young people wouldn’t know love if it bit them in the ass.”

####

Buy a copy of the  5 Star Reviewed JADED today to find out!

Autumn landscape

A devastating breakup leaves Yasmine Phillips in shambles. Unable to trust another man with her heart, she focuses on the one thing she can control—starting her own business.

When her computer crashes, taking months of hard work with it, she must rely on computer genius Zachariah Givens to save her. A complete opposite of men from her past, she doesn’t expect the passion that ensues. But just as she finds happiness, she learns the truth about the other women in Zachariah’s life.

Reviews, Free Chapter Samples, All Sales Links

 

New to The Butterfly Memoirs Series? Catch up with A Heart Not Easily Broken (Book One of The Butterfly Memoirs)

Reviews, Free Chapter Samples, All Sales Links

#####

Thank you for stopping by! I love to make new friends. Got questions or comments? Leave a comment, or connect with me online!

MJ

About Me     Twitter     Facebook     Google+      Goodreads     Linkedin     Email

2 thoughts on “Even Fictional Characters Appreciate Their #Mothers!

  1. Pingback: Music to Fuel the Muse… | Author M.J. Kane

  2. Pingback: #TeaserTuesday- Sometimes your friends know you better than you know yourself. | Author M.J. Kane

Leave a Reply

