#8Sunday- A Heart Not Easily Broken and a Tribute to Star Wars

A tribute to Star Wars???

I know, this is not my typical #8Sunday post, but yesterday was May 4th (May the 4th Be With You!) for Star Wars Fans (geeks!), of which I am one and proud of it. Today is May 5th (or better known as Revenge of the 5th!). Before I started writing Women’s Fiction/Contemporary/Interracial Romance novels, I was reading nearly every Star Wars novel in the Expanded Universe that I could get my hands on. Following the main characters lives after the events in the main movies helped develop my love of sequels and series. Studying the authors storytelling skills was also a great way to learn how to develop my own series.

Sci-Fi and Women’s Fiction…crazy, I know.

Any ways, when I wrote my first novel, I had to insert a tribute to George Lucas and the Star Wars franchise. In this weeks sample, Ebony Campbell and Brian Young are on their second ‘first’ date. As they get to know each other, Ebony shares the fact that she was a tom boy growing up and preferred to play Star Wars with her twin brother, Trevon, and his friends, instead of playing fashion show with ther older sister.

Excerpt: 

“Fashion show.” Her button shaped nose wrinkled at the memory. I continued to laugh, but toned it down.

“That annoyed the hell out of me. My brother would be outside playing Star Wars, while I got stuck inside wearing a stinking dress.”

“Let me guess, you wanted to be Queen Amidala.”

“Nope. I was the doctor who worked on the Wookie.” She grinned.

“An animal lover all the way, huh?”

“Oh yeah.”

####

If you haven’t read the Amazon Bestseller, A Heart Not Easily Broken, buy your copy today! It’s $3.99 and available for Kindle, Nook, iTunes, and on Smashwords. If Paperback is what you prefer, find it on Amazon or Barnes & Noble! 

M.J.Kane- Women's Fiction/Interracial Romance/Contemporary Romance

M.J.Kane- Women’s Fiction/Interracial Romance/Contemporary Romance

Ebony is a smart, sexy, career-oriented black woman who wants nothing more than a summer fling with a man who challenges her mind and body. What she doesn’t expect is a blond-haired, blue-eyed bass player—who won’t take “no” for an answer—to accept the challenge.

When Ebony’s attempt at a brief fling turns into more, despite negative reactions from friends and family, she finds juggling love, family, and career are nothing compared to the ultimate betrayal she endures. Now her dreams spiral into lies and secrets that threaten her future and her best friend’s trust.

ONE CLICK for REVIEWS, FREE CHAPTER READS, ALL SALES LINKS!

For more information on The Butterfly Memoirs Series and a sample of the next book, Jaded, visit this link! 

Looking for more #8Sunday Samples? Visit this link! 

11 thoughts on “#8Sunday- A Heart Not Easily Broken and a Tribute to Star Wars

  1. A fun, completely unexpected snippet – loved it. I once met one of the actors who played Chewbacca (he did some of the stunts) and he was TALL. A lovely person.

  2. I can totally sympathize with her! I always wanted to be Han Solo. Or Boba Fett. I guess that should have been my first clue I wasn’t really a girly girl 😛 I love finding fellow Star Wars fans, and was eventually lucky enough to marry one. Thanks for the excerpt!

Leave a Reply

