#TeaserTuesday- Jaded (Book 2 of The Butterfly Memoirs)- Zachariah’s introspection

This weeks #8Sunday teaser post got great feed back. One reader stated she loved the introspection. As I said before, it’s one of my favorite scenes of the novel. Watching him beat himself up over something as simple as a kiss was very entertaining,  especially since he was getting drunk at the time. With that said, I decided to share a bit more of that scene to show more of Zachariah’s character. Enjoy!

Excerpt:

My eyes traveled up from where I stood in the kitchen to the rail that marked the end of the bedroom. Visions of Melissa wearing lingerie to entice came to mind. One look at what she wore and I would be upstairs in a heartbeat.

Back then, the place was full of furniture, life, laughter, and love.

Melissa liked to decorate. Nearly every paycheck she brought home went towards something new to make this place ours. If electronics were my vice, shopping and decorating were hers. I didn’t mind because I made enough to pay the bills.

Man, she knew how to make a house a home. Pictures, flowers …everything modern and clean.

When she decided she didn’t want to wait around to see if my mother lived or died, she cleaned the place out, taking everything except for the bed and kitchen table. Guess those items were too big to move.

I finished off the second beer, rimmed it into the trashcan, and screwed the top off a third.

Now it was a man cave, a place where my friend, Nick, came to hang out and watch the game. A flat screen TV and a large sofa were the only pieces of furniture occupying the living room.  Bedroom furniture consisted of a bed and dresser. My computer desk sat tucked in a corner of the living room. Melissa bought that too. I guess she considered it an act of mercy to leave it behind.

Another empty got trashed. Grabbing two more bottles and putting the rest in the fridge, I headed upstairs.  I stripped and threw my tuxedo to the bottom of my closet. The only reason I had it in the first place was because Melissa insisted on me buying a tailored tux for our wedding instead of renting one. That monkey suit was proving to be bad luck.

Wearing nothing but boxer-briefs, I sat on the edge of my bed and stared into the depths of my brew.

That kiss.

What the hell had I been thinking?

Everything up until then went smoothly. I did my job. I distracted her, made her laugh and smile. As a result, the intoxicating fragrance of her perfume and feel of soft flesh as my hands slid over her body while we danced blew my mind.

Caught up in the moment, I got cocky and insisted we continue dancing when the music slowed.

It had been so long since I’d held a woman in my arms it had been hard to let go. Then there was the way she had looked at me. I could tell she enjoyed being in my arms as much as I enjoyed holding her.

Involvement in a relationship that led to anything emotional or physical was out of the question.

Wasn’t I the one who’d said we’d be friends who never slept together?

No matter how hard I tried, it was impossible to ignore how the soft curves of her body against mine felt…right.

Sex wasn’t my goal, though. Correction, sex wasn’t the only thing I wanted. My thoughts leaned towards a relationship that would…

I drained the bottle in my hand and reached for the last one on my nightstand.

Continuing this train of thought would lead to nothing but heartache. One time around that block was enough.

Unfortunately, I inherited my parents’ love of romance.

I was pathetic.

After barely looking at a woman to appreciate her appearance in over a year, the moment I got close to Yasmine, the first thing going on in my head wasn’t sex. Oh no, I thought about building a future and family.

Damn. I could see her wearing my ring and becoming my wife.

The most beautiful, smart, confident, opinionated, arrogant, and hardheaded woman I had ever met.

I stared at my cell phone, willing it to ring. After calling twice and getting kicked to voice mail, I refused to call again. I wouldn’t become that guy – the one who called begging like a wimp for a woman to answer her phone. She didn’t owe me anything. If Yasmine wanted to call me, she would, plain and simple.

The bottle depleted, I reached absently for another before realizing I’d drunk the ones I brought upstairs. Damn, half of the twelve-pack was gone, six beers in less than an hour. I hadn’t drank like this since the night Melissa left.

Tomorrow morning, I would be screwed.

Whatever. For now, I needed to forget the mistake I’d made tonight and pray Yasmine would forgive me in the morning.

Unable to ignore the buzz and light-headedness any longer, I turned out the light and sat in the dark. No matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t forget the softness of her lips, the taste of her tongue, and the way she kissed me back.

Damn. It was going to be a long night.

####

I have to say, what happens next makes me laugh every time!

Buy a copy of the  5 Star Reviewed Bestseller  to find out!

Autumn landscape

A devastating breakup leaves Yasmine Phillips in shambles. Unable to trust another man with her heart, she focuses on the one thing she can control—starting her own business.

When her computer crashes, taking months of hard work with it, she must rely on computer genius Zachariah Givens to save her. A complete opposite of men from her past, she doesn’t expect the passion that ensues. But just as she finds happiness, she learns the truth about the other women in Zachariah’s life.

New to The Butterfly Memoirs Series? Catch up with A Heart Not Easily Broken (Book One of The Butterfly Memoirs)

Reviews, Free Chapter Samples, All Sales Links

4 thoughts on “#TeaserTuesday- Jaded (Book 2 of The Butterfly Memoirs)- Zachariah’s introspection

  1. Pingback: #TeaserTuesday- The Butterfly Memoirs: Life, Love, Tragedy, and Triumph… | Author M.J. Kane

  2. Pingback: Even Fictional Characters Appreciate Their #Mothers! | Author M.J. Kane

  3. Pingback: #8Sunday- First Impressions | Author M.J. Kane

  4. Pingback: #TeaserTuesday- Sometimes your friends know you better than you know yourself. | Author M.J. Kane

Leave a Reply

