The Best Moment Award!

It was a pleasant start to my morning to open my email and learn that my blog has received the  Best Moment Award, and more specifically, my page that offers Helpful Advice for Aspiring Authors. It is a great feeling to learn that my blog post sharing my journey to becoming an author has proved to be helpful to so many.

best-moment-award

So, as requested, per the award instructions, I have to give an acceptance speech:

My Speech:

First of all, let me thank Sharon C. Cooper for honoring me with this title. In January, I switched my blogging platform from Blogger to WordPress. It was  a big decision since over the past three years I’d acquired a large following of bloggers, writers, and readers who read my post for inspiration. I was an aspiring author when I started blogging, and enjoyed sharing the things I learned with other authors with goals of seeing their name on a book. The comments and feedback those posts  inspired me to keep writing more, keep researching, and to keep sharing. In doing so, I had unwittingly built a support system of hundreds of unknown, often times faceless, followers who cheered me on when my status changed to published author. I worried that changing blogging platforms would make it impossible for my blog followers to find me again, but to my surprise, they have! Though my blog no longer focuses solely on sharing information about writing, I still focus on the craft. To make it easy for aspiring authors who are looking for helpful advice, I created the M.J. on Writing- Helpful Advice for Aspiring Authors page which has direct links to all of my most viewed and helpful post on writing dating back to 2010. I still blog twice a month on such topics, as well as share weekly author interviews and guest post, allowing my blog followers the chance to meet and learn what makes other authors tick. I do this as a way to provide inspiration for those who feel they are alone when it comes to writing. Since January, I have picked up over 1000 followers….THANKS GUYS!!!

Now, that the hand waving and tears are out of the way, lol, it’s time to nominate other bloggers for the post that inspired me. (It’s supposed to be 15, but I’ll see how many I can remember!) So, here we go!

Carmen DeSousa- Why do you write? Does it matter if a major publisher discovers you, or just that someone reads your writing?

Christine Steendam- Overnight Success 

Synithia Williams- If Romance is Smut It’s All Smut

Stacey Deanne- Interracial Romance: The Most Popular Genre No One’s Heard About

Those are the only ones I can come up with off the top of my head…yep, I’ve been that busy writing that I haven’t read too much!!!

Congrats to all, and pass along to show appreciation of post you’ve enjoyed!

MJ

4 thoughts on “The Best Moment Award!

Leave a Reply

