Interview with Melynda Price!

Today I welcome another  5 Prince Publishing author,  Melynda Price. Melinda writes  Paranormal Romance. Take a moment to get to know her, then check out her book, Until Darkness Comes!

Welcome, Melynda!

What inspired you to write?

A few key things contributed to my becoming an author. I edited a book for a friend of mine, and I absolutely loved it! But as fantastic as her story was, I found myself wanting to write over it. What if this happened? Or what if they said that? At the time, I was also reading the Book of Enoch, which inspired me to write a fallen angel series.

 What genre do you write? Did you choose it, or did it choose you?

I write paranormal romance. I think the choosing was mutual, LOL. I only read paranormal, it’s what intrigues me, and I write what I’m passionate about. I love creating a world that’s larger than life, an escape from reality and the confines of our world where my only challenge is to make the unbelievable believable.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

I’m the most productive in the morning. I’ve found that’s when my creativity is the best. I like to grab a cup of coffee, settle into my chair with my Chihuahua and spend the day writing. 🙂

 What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

It’s not a quirk as much as a challenge, but I have the hardest time ending a book. I hate to say good-bye to my characters, and I find it very difficult to wrap up a story that will give the reader closure. It’s important to me that they don’t feel like the ending is rushed. I’ve read so many great stories but then was disappointed with the ending. I think cliffhangers are great too, as long as everyone gets their Happily Ever After when it’s all finished. 🙂

 Are you a pantser or plotter?

I’m a total pantser. In fact, half the time, I don’t even know what’s going to happen until sit down to write it. I think this style of writing can make for an exciting, unpredictable read. When I wrote Shades of Darkness, I had my first draft written and when I was polishing it for my editor, I got pulled back into the story and I completely rewrote the ending. 🙂

Are your stories based on experiences based on someone you know, or are events in your own life reflected in the characters/stories you write? Can you share and example?

My stories are complete and total fabrications. However, I have been told by people who know me, that they can see a little of by daughter in Olivia. I find it funny how even without trying my creative side intersects with reality.

Do you have any suggestions to help new authors become a better writer? If so, what are they?

Learn to write deep POV from the beginning. It’s a craft of writing that takes time to develop but well worth it. It will enrich your story and make your writing stronger.

 Are you self-pubbed, indie pubbed, or traditionally pubbed?

I’m traditionally published through 5Prince Publishing. My first book, Until Darkness Comes released 3/21/12. Shades of Darkness, the second book in this series, will release 2/28/13.

 What are your current projects?

I’m currently writing the third book in my Redemption Series, Courting Darkness.

Connect  with Melynda on these sites:

Website      FB Author Page      FB      Twitter      Email 

Autumn landscapeA guardian angel… A forbidden love… Eternal consequences…
Olivia Norton was born with a gift—a gift heaven has sworn to protect, and hell is bound to destroy. Her perfect world is turned upside-down when two handsome strangers, Max and Liam, step into her life. Olivia soon discovers that her ‘Mr. Perfect’ is actually a perfect nightmare.

 The rules of engagement have changed and Liam, Olivia’s guardian angel, is forced to cross dimensional borders or risk losing the woman he’s sworn to protect. Suddenly, thrust into a world unlike anything he’s ever known, Liam isn’t prepared to come face to face with the young woman whose life he holds in his hands.

 But nothing is as it seems, and secrets abound that will ultimately force him to choose between two impossibilities. Max will stop at nothing to finish what he’s started, and Olivia is soon plunged into a battle between good and evil. Her very life hangs in the balance as two forces fight to win her heart.

BUY your copy today!!!

Autumn landscape

 Coming  2/28/13!!!

Free will comes at a cost…

Three years after losing the love of her life, Olivia Norton refuses to continue living in the shadows of what will never be. But how can she marry another when her guardian angel still holds her heart?

Bound by Universal Law, Liam is forced to choose between his honor and his heart. Returning for Olivia nearly cost him his salvation once, but twice may prove to be his final undoing. Some sacrifices are worth the risk, while others could bring consequences that would last an immortal lifetime.

The game has changed—new players bring new threats and challenges. The evil that nearly took Olivia’s life three years ago has returned with a vengeance. A legion has been sent, and the Dark Court will not rest until the last sighted female has been killed.

An old enemy returns… Evil has a new face, a new name, and Haden will stop at nothing to possess the key Olivia holds, unlocking the power he needs to claim his revenge against Heaven and Hell.

 

5 thoughts on “Interview with Melynda Price!

  1. I love the cover. The blurb sounds intriguing. Does the first book need to be read to understand what’s going on?
    I have a novel with slight paranormal elements in the real world (ghost, psychic abilities) and am toying with the idea of changing the genre to paranormal from contemporary although it isn’t fantastical.

    • Hi Kim, I would recommed reding the first, Until Darkness Comes, before the second, Shades of Darkness. I try to background the characters in the second without being redundant, but you’ll be so much more inversted in their story if you read Until Darkness Comes first. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: #NewRelease from 5 Prince Publishing! Shades of Darkness by Melynda Price | Author M.J. Kane

  3. Pingback: Review: “Shades of Darkness: Redemption Series Book Two” by Melynda Price | Charles Ray's Ramblings

Leave a Reply

